top of page


Updated: Oct 5, 2021

human design 101 learn about human design

Why Human Design?

We tend to do a lot of thinking from day to day. The majority of us think so much that we are totally and completely at the mercy of our thoughts. Most of us believe that our mind is the centre of our identity. But what if the opposite was true? What if we could learn to recognize that our deepest intelligence lies within our body and that our thoughts are often distractors, taking us further from our natural state of being?

Human Design teaches us exactly this. While our strategizing brains were once useful during times of war and violence, these days, most of us are fortunate enough to live outside of such conditions. As such, we no longer benefit from mental decisions. We are now in a time in history where we can begin to consider tapping into the body's intelligence once again. Just like birds know to fly south during the winter, our bodies know our intended desitination if we choose to listen.

Using your birth date, time and location, Human Design explains the makings of your aura. An initial reading will describe your natural frequency, the gifts you incarnated with, where your energy impacts the aura of others, and where your aura is impacted by others.

*The more specific the time, the better. It can vary from person to person. If you’re uncertain about your birth time, reach out to me at and we can chat about what this means for your chart.

The Fundamentals:

The Centres

Human Design is its own system in and of itself but draws wisdom from Astrology, The Kabalah, The Hindu-Brahmin Chakra System, the I-Ching, as well as Genetic Code. However, slightly differentiating from the traditional Chakra system, Human Design recognizes nine major energetic centres as opposed to seven. These centres are recognized as the:

  1. Head (Crown) – Centre of inspiration

  2. Ajna (Mind) – Centre of mental processing, where we turn thoughts into language

  3. Throat – Centre of manifestation and speech

  4. G (Self) – Centre of self-love and direction

  5. Heart (Ego) – Centre of willpower and ego

  6. Sacral Centre – Where our ‘life-force’ energy resides

  7. Solar Plexus (Emotions) – The emotional centre, where we store and process our emotions

  8. Spleen – Centre of instinct and intuition

  9. Root – Centre of adrenalized action, pressure and stress

Aura Type and Strategy

Your aura ‘type’ explains the essence of your aura, how it impacts and is impacted. Each aura type has a different 'strategy', which demonstrates how we are designed to interact and engage with the world. When we learn to trust in, and follow, the way in which we were coded to move about in the world, we find that we are met with far less resistance and much more fulfillment. There are four different aura ‘types’:

1. Manifestors - Manifestors account for about 9% of the population. They are the initiators and the creators. Their auras are closed and tend to push back on the auras around them, causing the surrounding auras to contract. Because of this, many Manifestors are misunderstood and often conditioned from a young age to behave in a way that is unnatural to them. The Manifestor’s strategy is to inform those they impact when initiating new endeavours.

2. Pure Generators / Manifesting Generators - Generators make up about 70% of the population. They are the builders, the workers, the shakers, the doers. Being a generator means that the sacral centre is defined, which provides them with consistent access to their life force energy. Their auras are large, magnetic, and alluring. The Generator’s strategy is to respond to their environment.

3. Projectors - Projectors are the newest aura type, accounting for roughly 20% of the population, and they are here to serve as guides for those around them. Their auras are focused and absorbing. They’re considered a ‘non-energy’ type and are not designed to work long days, but are better off working in spurts, where they’re able to take the rest that they need. The Projector’s strategy is to wait to be recognized and invited by those around them.

4. Reflectors - Reflectors mirror their environment. They are the rarest of the aura types, with around 1% of the population being a Reflector. They sample and take in the energy from the people around them and serve as effective evaluators of their environments. The Reflector’s strategy is to exercise patience, as they are ‘Lunar’ beings, ruled by the moon (unlike the other types who are 'sun' beings). As the moon completes its cycle, Reflectors are energetically affected by the moons positioning, gaining new perspectives as it orbits the earth. As such, they do best when they can learn to wait for the moon to complete one full rotation so that they can absorb each new energy that it provides to them.


All of us have our own 'authority', which is our ruling inner intelligence; our internal decision-making process. We should always refer to our strategy before referring to our authority. Our authority is determined based on our unique bodygraph chart and will vary depending on which centres are defined (coloured-in) in your chart. There are seven types of authority:

  1. Emotional – Waiting for emotional clarity before making a decision. Riding out the emotional wave.

  2. Sacral (The ‘Gut-Response’) – A feeling of rising or depleting energy stemming from below the sacral.

  3. Splenic – Instantaneous recognition through intuitive awareness (using the lymph system)

  4. Ego-projected – Following the heart, learning to listen to your voice and recognizing when what you say has heart in it, or if it sounds hollow. Following your instinctive voice.

  5. Self-projected – A very quiet authority, an innate knowing stemming from the ‘G’ centre (centre of self). A fluttering feeling or feeling of being pulled magnetically in the sternum. Like ego authority, one must also learn to hear and trust in the frequency of the voice.

  6. Lunar – Ideally waiting for a 28-day cycle before making decisions. Absorbing the influence from the moon and its energies to gain perspective and insight.

  7. Environmental - Using others as a sounding board, bouncing ideas off of them and picking up on their output of energy as you do so. Gaining new energetic perspectives and finding clarity among them over time.

*Please keep in mind that these descriptions are all very generalized for the sake of simplicity, as such they should not be taken at face value. Over the coming weeks, I will be going into further depth as to type, strategy and authority, be sure to keep checking back if you're interested in diving deeper.

Knowing your Type, Strategy and Authority is just the tip of the iceberg in Human Design, but is crucial for deconditioning what doesn’t serve you, thus further aligning you to your natural state of being. Learning to trust in your body will allow you to reconnect with your inner wisdom so that you can make the decisions that are genetically correct for you.

If you would like to book a reading, you can do so here. Or, if you just have questions or comments, feel free to fill out the contact form below or book a free discovery call with me - I'm more than happy to continue the conversation. Until next time, folks.

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All